Travel Writer Highlight: J. Maarten Troost

I remember the first time I laid eyes on the provocative title of one of my favorite books.  “The Sex Lives of Cannibals” was glaring at me through my fathers bookshelves.

My first thought was, ‘How could my own DAD ever have such a book… let alone having it lay out in the open?!’ Needless to say, it’s not really about the sex lives of cannibals, but it’s more about the adventures of a man who decided to move to a remote island in the pacific ocean known as Kiribati.

I was certainly hooked.  I read the book two, three, four times over.  Fascinated by the magical mis-happenings of living on a secluded island.  What better life could someone possibly have?

And so my addiction spanned for even more of his books.  Getting Stoned With Savages, Lost on Planet China, my world was opening up to places I had once never even considered visiting.

If you love a travel read with humor, authenticity, and from the perspective of a fellow infected travelor, than I’d thoroughly recommend J. Maarten Troost.

(I got that awesome collage off of this website here: http://booksandwineat31st.blogspot.com)

2 thoughts on “Travel Writer Highlight: J. Maarten Troost

Leave a Reply

