2013: The Big One

Everyone has their own journey that they have embarked on, to come out the other side a changed person.  For someone whose passion is travel, of course it had to be on one of the greatest adventures a 20 year old could possibly had.

Now that I am almost 22, I look back on the year 2013 and realized that the year that I had was the biggest one I had in my life.  I still feel as though I am the same person, but a little less naive, and a lot less judgmental.

As I look back on that journey I had, I grew into myself as not only a woman, but as a person who looked at the world as a much smaller and less intimidating place.

At the time, East Africa was the destination.  Or mainly Kenya, although I was going to end up in Tanzania as well, and almost mistakenly made it to Uganda.  I was to go to Kenya and work for a non-profit as well as volunteer at a school and a hospital.  What an interesting journey I had.

To top it all off, I was to move from Sunny California to Washington D.C. to finish my bachelors degree and open myself up to more opportunities of what I thought was what I wanted to do.

And as I boarded the plane headed to JFK, London, and then Nairobi, I had no idea that taking such a journey alone would change the little girl inside into a grown woman.

Little did I know, as I boarded the plane from Nairobi, to London, to Dallas, that I would cry the entire flight home.  Not necessarily because I was sad, and maybe I was a little bit, but because my first journey of self discovery was coming to an end.

And the main lesson I learned, was that change is never a bad thing. Change can be painful, intimidating, and scary.  But change is many more things.  Opportunity, a new start, self discovery.

I encourage every one of you to embark on your own journey, wherever it may be.  Sometimes, you may come back finding the one person you were always looking to be.

One thought on “2013: The Big One

  1. Pingback: 22: Another year, endless possibilities | Mackenzie on the Fly

Leave a Reply

